The Virginia International Tattoo

Today we joined a group of homeschoolers for a performance of the Virginia International Tattoo. Going in I knew this: I love bagpipes, drums and men in kilts. It was no shock that I enjoyed the performance immensely. So did my children, a 7 year old girl and a 17 year old boy. The musicians, drill teams, and other performers were wonderful. My daughter and I kept tearing up with emotion for some reason. I do this but she’s 7! I didn’t know that small children could feel that welling up of intense emotion brought on by patriotism and pride. 

The show has a strong military influence. My favorite uniforms, aside from the kilts, were the Marines. Semper Fi! The group from Norway, The Band of His Majesty the King’s Guard, were fantastic. They looked like a group from fairy land. The singer was haunting and lovely. The drill team breath taking. The band crisp and beautiful.

A performance definitely worth the price of admission.

Categories: Tidewater | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

