Today I Asked Her if She is Happy

And she said, “Yes. Are you happy?”

My response was to tell her that I didn’t want to talk about myself, but about her. Does she feel safe? Does she enjoy the things she is doing in life–ballet; riding; piano; our homeschool co-op.

She said, “Yes. I’m very happy. I get to do almost everything I want to do.”

Which, in my ears, made it sound like she understands that wanting things is part of being happy. That a life without the tension of desire might be a little flat and boring. This is not a spiritual life question but one sent to a young girl who is in 5th grade, a year of changing and growing up and finding that she is a separate entity in this world.

What does happy mean for you or your kids?

Categories: 5th grade | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

